May

Well, when it’s mid-June you begin to question whether or not I’ve forgotten to update for the reads of May. Never fear, I have not! I actually have a few posts I’m excited to share with you, but those will have to wait, because it’s time for May’s reads:

Insurgent, by Veronica Roth

Allegiant, by Veronica Roth

The Heir, by Kiera Cass

The Revelation of Louisa May, by Michaela MacColl 

Saint Anything, by Sarah Dessen 

Just One Day, by Gayle Forman 

Just One Year, by Gayle Forman 

Now, majority of these were very pleasurable reads. I don’t have many complaints.

I told you last month how I reread Divergent by Veronica Roth. Insurgent and Allegiant are the others in the trilogy, which did not dissappoint. And like I previously mentioned, as I had forgotten most of the plot and the main points, it was nice to be reminded of the genius behind it (because seriously, I love the idea!) and see the great writing style again. For Allegiant, I’ve heard many people say they didn’t like how it ended the trilogy, but for me, I found it a nice way to wrap it up. I mean, they were some parts that were… upsetting *looks this way and that and keeps mouth shut* but overall I enjoyed it.

Now, The Heir. This was the continuation of The Selection, which followed Prince Maxon’s daughter as she went through her own Selection. For fans of the original trilogy, this is a MUST READ. If you thought you hadn’t had enough of the first three, then this is meant for you. Seriously, when I heard that a fourth was coming out it just made me so happy! It was great seeing familiar characters yet exciting to fall in love with new ones.

And for all those Little Women fans? Ever wondered about the life of the beloved author, Louisa May Alcott? Well, imagine my delight when I heard about a fictional yet near-the-truth book that was recently released. The Revelation of Louisa May is hinted with mystery and romance, and definitely worth your time. Check it out!

I also read Gayle Forman’s Just One Day and it’s sequel, Just One Year. I have to say, I preferred the sequel much more than the first. But what was very unique was the way the two were written: each one had a different narrator, following their journeys as they tried to find each other.

Time to get real. Or more real than I was before. On the same date that The Heir was released, Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen was as well. And I am a HUGE fan of Dessen and her books, so it was just absolutely necessary for me to read it. It was especially precious because I knew it was a very difficult writing year for Sarah Dessen, when she put aside her latest novel after it wasn’t working for her. (Source, her website!) But then after periods of not writing, the idea of Sydney (Saint Anything’s protagonist) and the Chathams appeared, and she finished her first draft in a mere four months. Talk about talent! It was very well written and had a great story line, so for any Sarah Dessen fans, this is also a must.

Hope this helped you find your next summer reads 😉

-Zoie

Leave a Reply

