June

While I know this is about June’s reads, by me posting it signifies the start of July, and isn’t July such a glorious, glorious month? Warmer temperatures, no school, and even better, more time to read books! But before I can even begin to do so, I have to at least notify you of last month’s reads…

I better do it quick- there’s no time to loose!

I Was Here, by Gayle Forman

The Truth About Forever, by Sarah Dessen

Lock and Key, by Sarah Dessen

We Are Made of Molecules, by Susin Nielsen

Someone Like You, by Sarah Dessen

This Lullaby, by Sarah Dessen

I started getting into more books by Gayle Forman last May, so it was only necessary to read her latest release, I Was Here. It dealed with a more darker topic, and I found it to be a bit slow at times. I couldn’t really get into it, and because of that this book just didn’t work for me. Forman’s If I Stay, and Just One Year were very well written though, both with page-turning plots, so I guess this one just was an exception…

Before I begin with the Dessen novels, though, I think I should next talk about We Are All Made of Molecules, by Susin Nielsen. Like her others (Word Nerd, Dear George Clooney, and The Reluctant Journal), this book was rich with humour, making readers actually laugh out loud. The book itself is small in size, but as the saying goes, it’s about quality, not quantity. It was a fabulous read, and will make even non-readers fall in love with Nielsen’s newest story.

And now, it’s Sarah Dessen time! It was to my great sadness to have read my last few Dessen books this month. The Truth About Forever, if you had seen my review on it, was an absolute delight to read. Lock and Key, and Someone Like You, were also great reads, but not my favourites. No, that has to go to This Lullaby, which I decided to reread. When I originally read it, I wasn’t blown away. In fact, I wasn’t a fan at all. Which is surprising, because after reading it for a second time, I couldn’t turn away. I read the bulk of the novel in one sitting- I couldn’t put it down. That just comes to show how opinions are subject to change, since This Lullaby has now become #1 on my Dessen ranks. Yup.

Well, that’s all for the month of June.

Cheers to summer!

-Zoie 😉

Leave a Reply

