Reading and Blogging

Why do I do what I do?

By that, I mean, why do I bother having this blog, when I could be using those precious moments it takes to write and upload a post for other things… reading, per se? Well, it’s not as simple as that.

I love to blog. I love how maybe somewhere in the world, someone is reading an entry I have written, and is taking something away from that. Perhaps they read a review and thought “Hmmm, maybe I should check that book out.” Maybe it’s just that they like the idea that there are readers out there, in a place where technology is rapidly advancing and all people seem to be attached to one device or another. I mean, the thought is quite astonishing, actually, when you think about all the technology we have offered to us, and still some choose to snuggle up with a paperback book instead.

I blog because I like to inform people about the wonders that are out there, even if they are hidden away in the back shelves of old bookstores. More often than not, though, you’ll find me reviewing a very popular YA novel, which I assume would not be found on the back shelves. But it’s needless to say, it’s fun to blog about something I enjoy doing, and that’s reading. If I am able to get one of my readers to pick up a book that I have recommended, I have done my job as an advisor, as well as a blogger. Becuase really, that’s what it’s all about. If I am able to impact you in any way, I have succeeded as a book enthusiast.

And why should one even want to love books? Well, here’s my reasoning:

It’s a little escape, if only for a couple hundred of pages. You get to live the life of another character, follow their story, and watch them as they progress and grow as a character. Because here’s something lots of people don’t seem to understand- books are not movies. These characters have problems just like us, some that we can even relate to. It’s relieving to find that you’re not alone on that point, that you can see the book out to the end to find out how they deal with their problems. Books aren’t just ‘she did this and he said that, and they lived happily ever after’. If that were the case, the story would take you no time at all to read! No, there’s a reason there are so many pages between the beginning and the end. There’s conflict, and drama, and everything that comes with it. And if you find yourself becoming immersed with the story, well, that’s okay too. It’s the reason they’re there for- to take you on a journey, word by word, until it has intrigued you enough that you can’t seem to ever put it down.

So yes, that’s why I do what I do.

A book is a dream that you hold in your hands

-Neil Gaiman

Thanks for all those who continue to read and support this blog! You are the ones I hope to inspire ā¤

Your bookworm blogger,

Zoie šŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Reading and Blogging

  1. Wonderful to meet you Zoie,

    Thank you for sharing the journeys your readings take you on. I will be following along to learn more.

    Iā€™m Celeste & I also am taking the Blogging 101 course along with you and I just wanted to drop by to introduce myself and invite you over to my blog as well

    Drop by anytime to say hello or just browse around.

    Welcome To Blogging 101 šŸ˜‰
    ā˜†ā˜† Happy Blogging ā˜†ā˜†
    http://www.sundragonlady.com

    Like

  2. Two things:

    1. I’m brand new to your blog (woo, Blogging 101!), and I love it! I love reading, and new book suggestions are always welcome to me!

    2. Anyone that quotes Neil Gaiman is good in my book! šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

