My Top Five

Today I decided that it was time to post my top five Sarah Dessen books! While I love all of her books, there has to be ones that I exceptionally love. To me, these five were the standouts out of Sarah Dessen’s twelve published books:

5. Keeping the Moon

keeping the moon

This book is ultimately about friendship, and what it means to be a friend. The third published out of Sarah Dessen’s collection, Keeping the Moon is one that you seek out to read when you are in need of some cheering-up. In this book, you can truly feel what the narrator, Colie, is trying to say. She had been mistreated by her peers in past years, and when she comes to visit her eccentric aunt Mira one summer, she lands herself a job as a waitress in a local café. It is there that she meets two best friends, Morgan and Isabel. They teach her to believe in herself, and keep a high self-esteem. With such a powerful and valuable message, this book was a delight to read, and one I certainly would recommend to Sarah Dessen fans.

4. Along for the Ride

 9780142415566_AlongForTheR_CV.indd

For me, this book was such a pleasure to read. I finished it in a flat four days, because once I got to the bottom of a page, I was tempted to turn it, and so on, and so on. It was one of those books that had a smooth plot line, and was easy to follow, but also had a story that was worth reading. It’s a book set in the time that anything can happen- summer, and is why I urge those who don’t know what to read this summer to check it out! It’s definitely sure to put a smile on your face 😉

3. Saint Anything

saint anything

Dessen’s newest release is a bit different from her others, if only because it’s a bit darker from the rest. It is a story about a girl who is “searching for her place in her family and the world.” This was an engaging read, and I really, really loved it. There were new people to fall in love with, such as Layla, Mac, and the protagonist, Sydney. It was insightful; really bringing me into the world of someone who feels excluded from her parent’s care, as well as someone who discovers that she can find acceptance in others, and feel truly welcome after all. For those who have not yet read her latest book, I guarantee that it will not disappoint!

2. The Truth About Forever

the_truth_about_forever

It was a difficult decision for me not to make this number one, but it was This Lullaby that eventually won the race. Still, there is so much to enjoy about this book. The thing that I especially loved about it was that it started off with this prospect of a long and boring summer, but ended up, of course, with it being much more than that. It goes on to show what can go on in those 374 pages that can change the course of someone’s summer, and how a great story can come out of it. There were characters (*cough, cough, Monica!*) that really stuck with me, and the message that things can get better. So much happened in this book, but I guess you have to read it to believe it. If you want to find out more, check out my review on it here!

1. This Lullaby

this lullaby

There obviously has to be a reason that out of twelve published books, this is the one that I chose to rank first. It was one that you never wanted to put down, one that made you laugh out loud, and one that made you smile… a lot. And really, there are lots of reasons why I love this novel, but my main point has to be the engaging characters. There’s Dexter, who, because of this novel, became my favourite character created by Sarah Dessen. He’s the type of person that, when in his company, will never bore you. Besides that is the protagonist, Remy, who is quite the opposite of Dexter. Where he is easy-going, she can be cold and indifferent, someone who is sure of everything. The plot for this novel progressed very smoothly, each chapter significant to the book. The writing in this one just seemed so perfect, full of witty jokes and clever words. The author herself even said that “Writing it was like going to a party every day,” and that it is “The only book that I would ever consider writing a sequel to.” (Source, her website!) Fortunately, Remy and Dexter make a cameo appearance in her seventh book, Just Listen. 

image

What are your favourite Sarah Dessen books? Let me know in the comments below!

Your fellow bookworm,

Zoie 🙂

One thought on “My Top Five

Leave a Reply

