The Reality Which is Life

I have always loved summer, because it meant so much free time to READ. But I found out the hard way that sometimes, summer vacation could also get in the way of reading, just because it has so many plans for you. So while I was hoping to read more books this month, I also don’t regret all the fun stuff I’ve done so far. While reading gives you an escape to immerse yourself in the life of someone else, living your own life can be pretty exciting too, such as trying new things to keep it interesting, or engaging yourself in old traditions that you love.

Okay, okay, I know. What am I saying? I’m a book-lover, completely pro-books. All for the usual excuses you make so that you can spend time reading instead of doing this or that. But you know what? I’m also a writer, or at least, hoping to become one. And I once heard an author say that if you have the chance to go on an adventure or write, always choose the adventure, because that will give you something to write about later. And it’s true- just this summer I’ve been inspired to write so many things! This wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t put down my book for once and took a leap, into the place that is called reality.

What I guess I’m really trying to say is, don’t be afraid to shoot for an adventure, even if it means putting your reading aside. These books will always be there when you come back, will always be there to keep you company like any great novel should. But right now, it’s okay to venture out into the world, even if your outing is just going swimming with a friend, or having a barbeque with your family. There is so much you’ll miss if you have your nose stuck in a book all your life- all the precious memories, and the days you will never get back. It’s all about connecting, and reaching out to one another. Yes, books are a huge part of my life, a part I’m truly thankful for, but so are my family and friends, and the moments they give me when I give them back.

I hope you all have a great summer! Remember to enjoy all you are so privileged to receive these few months, and to cherish the company and life all around you.

Cheers to happy reading and wonderful adventures!

Zoie 🙂

Leave a Reply

