August, Part II

I’m still in shock at the fact that there needs to be a part two for my August reads. All my reading last month really hadn’t dawned on me, because I honestly felt like I had all the time in the world, despite fitting in all that summer fun.

Here’s the list of what I read in August, in case you needed a refresher:

Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell

The Fill-in Boyfriend, by Kasie West

Finding Audrey, by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey, by Sophie Kinsella

Between the Notes, by Sharon Huss Roat

Kissing in America, by Margo Rabb

Love Fortunes and Other Disasters, by Kimberly Karalius

All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, by Jenny Han

I left off my last post with my thoughts on Between the Notes, so it’s time to now focus on my following read, Kissing in America.

This was one that I found at the library, where I unexpectedly took home seven books. You can read about that here. As you know, I was hesitant to read Kissing in America. (And yes I realize that I judged the book by the title. The cover also was beautiful, if not a bit darker than covers I usually pick up. Here’s a lesson though, everyone: Don’t judge a book by the cover.) I loved this book, so, so much. It was full of poetry, containing works by e.e cummings, Emily Dickinson, Adrienne Rich, and Edna St. Vincent Millay. It was a very interesting read, a bit different from other books I’ve read this month, but nonetheless great. Recommended!

The next on the list was Love Fortunes and Other Disasters, another read I scored unintentionally at the library. This book particularly stuck with me last month, because I couldn’t stop talking about it. There’s a review on it to come though, and I don’t want to spoil too much, so that’s all I’m saying for now.

And then there was All the Bright Places, by Jennifer Niven. Words cannot express how much I loved this book, or more specifically, the writing. I had waited all summer for the hold to arrive at the library, due to the number of people also wanting to get their hands on it. When it finally came, I dropped everything and went straight to pick it up. There was something so compelling about the story, because I couldn’t put it down. If I had to describe it in one word, it would be irresistible. It was one of those books where I couldn’t stop thinking about the plotline, and the characters, and the everything. This is a must-read for YA lovers!

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl has also become a very popular novel in the YA world lately, despite it being published back in 2013. I’d say this is thanks to the newly released movie, in which I admit was what brought my attention to reading it in the first place. The trailer looked absolutely hilarious, and I knew I had to read it before I could see it. While the main character, Greg, could be a bit insufferable at times, I found the novel interesting and unique. It certainly was unlike anything I’ve ever read before. It’s light and easy, and also had me laughing out loud at times. What I found most different was the fact that the book is supposedly written by Greg Gaines, so we got a lot more insight into his mind than we usually would with first person narrators. (Of course, don’t let that confuse you- the author still is Jesse Andrews.)

And we’ve reached the end of our list! Time to close off our August reads with Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. Sweet, simple, and just wonderful to read, I sped through this novel wanting more. Luckily, there was still the sequel P.S I Still Love You to get my hands on!

Have a wonderful rest of September everyone!

Your fellow bookworm,

Zoie ❤

Leave a Reply

