September

Is it November already? Huh… well, this seems like a good a time as any to tell you my September reads, which are long overdue!

Here we go:

P.S I Still Love You, by Jenny Han

Like it Never Happened, by Emily Adrian

Playing with Matches, by Suri Rosen

Mosquitoland, by David Arnold

Velvet, by Temple West

Red Queen, by Victoria Aveyard

Oh, I loved all of these books! There were some that really stuck with me, others that were just a delight to read, and others that were a bit different…

Since I’ve kept you all waiting for a full month now, I’m going to do this month’s reads in a new way, by categorizing them in the three ways I mentioned above.

First, the ones that were a delight to read! (Because everyone needs books like that in their life):

P.S I Still Love You was one of those light reads that I grabbed immediately upon finishing its previous book, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, which I read in August. I felt that the sequel was a necessary read if you loved the first, and thought it summed up Lara Jean and Peter’s love story quite well. For any fans of Jenny Han, her latest book did not disappoint!

Another YA I read this month that was just as compelling and wonderful was Emily Adrian’s Like it Never Happened. She has such great writing that resulted in me never wanting to put it down. I vaguely recollect myself late into the night reading this book, eyes drooping with the desire to sleep, but always telling myself “just one more chapter!”. Warning- you may read this novel in one sitting.

The last book in the category of “Books that were a delight to read,” is Playing with Matches, by Suri Rosen. I really liked this book because the writing was just straightforward, yet still with the whole show-don’t-tell thing going on, making it easy to follow. The story line was actually really interesting, with teen matchmaker trying to set up her older sister without her finding out that it’s her, and is also set in my home city, which was just super awesome. (Don’t you love when that happens? They mention a location or franchise you’ve heard of and you’re just like “I know where/what that is!! I’ve been there!” Ah, jolly times.)

Next category, please! Here we have “Books that were a little different.” And guess what? There’s only one book listed…

And it’s debut YA author David Arnold’s Mosquitoland. Even the name appeals to me, despite describing such a land being one of my worst nightmares- but don’t worry; besides some face paint and references to Mississippi, there’s not much of the pesky blood-sucking insects! This novel is listed as a little different as it took a while for me to get into it, if only because of the writing. At times it felt overwhelming, with it being full of witty sentences and large adjectives. Think of it like this: When you start an old classic (say Pride and Prejudice), you notice that all the old English can be a bit hard to follow and understand at times, but after a while you get so used to it that the rest of the book reads smoothly and you almost don’t notice it anymore. That was what my experience with Mosquitoland was like- after you got used to the fancy-ish writing, it was a truly enjoyable book. In fact, I appreciated the writing that made the book up, and besides the unforgettable bold protagonist Mim, was one of the reasons I really liked this novel.

And now for the books that stood out with me, my favourites of the month of September!

First of all, I’ll mention Red Queen. You may or may not have read my blog post on it, where I may or may not have fangirled over it. Why? Because it was just AMAZING. A must read for any fans of YA, Dystopian, Fantasy, Science Fiction, or all of the above! There’s so much I can say about it, but I feel my last post summed up all my feels in a more elaborative format, so check that out if you’re interested 😉

And lastly, there was Velvet by Temple West, which, (wait for it), was a vampire romance. I know, I know! I was totally dubious going in, because the first thing I thought of was Twilight, and I just had mixed feelings. But I am not ashamed to say how much I sincerely loved this book, and that it has become one of my favourites! It just goes to show that you always have to give things- whether novels or otherwise- a chance, or else you’ll miss out on a whole lot of awesomeness. Also, a lot of books I was hesitant to read have become new favourites of mine, and Velvet was just another example of a skeptical Zoie being proven wrong, and boy, was I glad!

Those were all the reads for September! I realize now that October’s reads will need to be uploaded pretty soon, so stay on the look out for that, too. I also have some really exciting posts I can’t wait to share with you all that will be coming in random intervals in the next month or two to come!

Until then, keep on reading!

Zoie 🙂

Leave a Reply

