October

Time to update for October’s reads, which I realize is long overdue. Oh well, time flies when you’re having fun reading, or however the saying goes… πŸ˜‰

Infinite in Between, by Carolyn Mackler

Everything, Everything, by Nicole Yoon

Proof of Forever, by Lexa Hillyer

How to Say I Love You Outloud, by Karole Cozzo

The Night We Said Yes, by Lauren Gibaldi

Emmy & Oliver, by Robin Benway

Infinite in Between by Carolyn Mackler was a book that I truly loved, but was very different in my eyes. Told from five perspectives over their four years of high school, it seemed to me that there were five complete separate stories that managed to touch throughout the years. I mean, of course their stories were all connected, but when I thought about it they all just read like each POV was about everyone’s individual high school life. Here’s the thing: though sometimes plain and assuming, Mackler was able to make it a story of interest by intertwining all their stories into one unforgettable journey.

Everything, Everything. There was so much buzz about Nicola Yoon’s debut, but for me I didn’t see what it was all about. It was a good story, I’ll give you that, but I wasn’t too caught up in the plot and the characters and all that. Mind you, I did like all the illustrations and unique way of storytelling. Also, my sister absolutely loved it, so I guess that just proves that everyone has their own thoughts and opinions about critically-acclaimed novels, or any novels really.

Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer was a great book, as I found myself invested of the second-chance summer of Zoe, Tali, Luce, and Joy. My only problem with it was the whole time-travelling theme, because it was not something I expected would happen when I got into it. Once you got used to the idea though, it made for a very pleasant read.

How to Say I Love You Outloud was a book I was especially looking forward to, as it was a Swoon Reads publishing, along with Love Fortunes and Other Disasters and Velvet, two books I have read within the past couple of months and loved. I’d have to say that while I liked the storyline and writing, the characters and momentum seemed too flat to me, and the romance in it seemed to be a subplot rather than the main idea.

The Night We Said Yes by debut author Lauren Gibaldi was interesting. Told in then and now perspectives, it showed us both love stories of Matt and Ella. While the idea is unique, I wasn’t quite invested on it as I was with other books this month.

The last book I read in October I’d have to say was my favourite. Emmy & Oliver was just the perfect read for me, because I couldn’t get enough. Even after I finished it I would think about passages in the novel, reading them outloud to my friends and just smiling at the mere thought of it. The characters were so REAL, and the friendships in this book were so strong it just read very well. The writing was dangerously addictive for me, because I almost consumed Emmy & Oliver in one day, dedicating my time with it on the couch with a blanket and a tea. It was beautifully executed, and is definitely a MUST READ I believe for YA lovers. Robin Benway, I’m a fan!

While October’s reads weren’t all that memorable for me, the ones that were made up for it all. I have some great reads so far this November to share soon when the month is gone, but until then, happy reading!

Zoie πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

