December

FullSizeRender(1)

While it started off as a slow reading month for me, two weeks off school quickly allowed me to catch up on some necessary winter reading!

Untwine, by Edwidge Danticat

The Distance From Me to You, by Marina Gessner

Say What You Will, by Cammie McGovern

Signs Point to Yes, by Sandy Hall

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman

Where She Went, by Gayle Forman

My True Love Gave to Me, edited by Stephanie Perkins

The first book I read this month was Untwine, by Edwidge Danticat. It was the story of two sisters, twins who had been born holding hands, and how one car crash will change the lives of both. Beautifully written and incredibly insightful, this novel is definitely recommended to fans of Gayle Forman’s If I Stay.

The Distance From Me to You, while it took me a while to read, was a book that I thoroughly enjoyed. The writing at times could feel flat, not containing much voice, but at the same time it was the way of storytelling that was something that compelled me into the plotine. Thumbs up, Marina Gessner!

And because I loved A Step Toward Falling, a new YA I read just last month, I decided to pick up author Cammie McGovern’s debut, Say What You Will. I found that the storyline seemed to be quick-paced and while I liked how page-turning it was, it made for the plot to be all over the place at times.

Last month I also read A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall, which if you can recall was a book that I loved. Like, it just gave me ALL THE FEELS. So going into her second novel, Signs Point to Yes, I strongly believed that this book could not compare to her adorable debut. I mean, how could it? A Little Something Different was just AMAZING. And yet, miracle of miracles, I was surprised again! Signs Point to Yes was just as beautiful as her first book, so fans of Sandy Hall, pick this up!

This December I took to reading If I Stay again, because I remembered loving it when I read it more than a year ago, and found the writing and story as poetic as I did the first time. I also read the sequel, Where She Went, which is a novel I once started but never finished. This time I did, and once again Gayle Forman does a terrific job of telling a story.

The very last book of the year I read was one I recieved for Christmas, a holiday anthology entitled My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories. Many YA readers would recognize contributors, such as Rainbow Rowell, who was the main reason it was number one on my Bookmas list, as well as Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Matt de la Pena, and Ally Carter. While some stories to me were just okay, favourites included Midnights, Angels in the Snow, Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me, Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus, It’s a Yuletide Miracle Charlie Brown, and The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer.

I definitely recommend checking out some of these titles, because most were such a pleasure to read! And with January already in progress, it’s time to find some more books to cuddle up with….

Zoie ❤

Leave a Reply

