2016 Reading Resolutions

This year, for my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, I set my goal for 60 books. And while that’s my ultimate goal, there are some reading resolutions I’d like to make, and (hopefully) keep. It is the start of a new year, right? It’s the perfect time to make new resolutions.

So, here they are:

  1. To read from different genres.

I admit that I am guilty of not making a huge effort to read a more diverse variety of genres, mostly because I am so in love with YA Contemporary. But I’ve set this as my number one book resolution since as a bookworm I want to widen my horizons and be able to read anything. So this year it is my hope that I try different genres besides realistic, such as more fantasy, science fiction, dystopia, mystery, or even horror…

2. To read more classics. 

Yes. I understand this somewhat ties in with number one, but I decided that this needed to be a resolution on its own, because classics are called classics for a reason. So far I’ve read Anne of Green Gables and Pride and Prejudice, but there are many on my shelf I have yet to open, and 2016 is the perfect opportunity to get working on that!

3. Re-read the Harry Potter series.

Every year since I first read this beloved series, I’ve re-read it annually. But (insert horror/shocked gasps here) 2015 was the only expection. So I’m intent on making this year different, because I miss Hogwarts and the wonderful world that J.K Rowling created, and the series that made me fall in love with reading.

As odd as it sounds, it was actually hard coming up with these resolutions, minimal as they were! All I knew was that I wanted to expand my book selections, and I’ve been thinking of different books I’d like to pick up. (A Court of Thorns and Roses and Six of Crows, anyone?)

Unlike those who make resolutions the way they make empty promises, I fully intend to keep and shoot for these goals. After all, I have at least sixty books to explore, or re-explore!

Have a great 2016,

Zoie 😉

2 thoughts on “2016 Reading Resolutions

  1. Hello there! This is Kritika here. I found you through Blogging 101. It is great to find someone who loves to read and also blogs about it! I wish you all the best for your reading challenge! I’ve taken up the challenge to read 52 books too. Let’s hope I can accomplish it in time so that I can read as much as you have. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

